Media Center

38 McNees Attorneys Selected as 2018 Best Lawyers in America

August 15, 2017
Press Releases

HARRISBURG – Thirty-eight McNees Wallace & Nurick attorneys have been recognized by Best Lawyers in America®. Of the 38 selected, six have been named 2018 “Lawyers of the Year” by the publication.

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers’ peer-nominated lists have been recognized as the most reliable, unbiased source of legal referrals in the country. Twenty-one McNees attorneys have been recognized for 10 or more years and three McNees attorneys have been on the list 20 or more times.

“It is rewarding to have the client service, dedication, and hard work of our attorneys recognized by their peers,” David M. Kleppinger, McNees chairman, said. “Such recognition is a high point in any attorney’s career because it demonstrates how their peers value the quality of their representation and hard work.”

The six McNees attorneys named “Lawyers of the Year” and their respective practice areas are:

  • Clayton W. Davidson, Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Daniel J. Malpezzi, Banking and Finance Law
  • James W. Kutz, Litigation/Construction
  • Mark M. Van Blargan, Health Care Law
  • Michael L. Hund, Corporate Law
  • Richard H. Friedman, Litigation/Environmental

The additional McNees attorneys appearing on the 2018 Best Lawyers list are:


  • Alan R. Boynton Jr., Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Intellectual Property Litigation
  • Debra Denison Cantor, Collaborative Law; Family Law
  • Charles M. Courtney, Land Use and Zoning Law
  • Clayton W. Davidson, Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • James P. DeAngelo, Commercial Litigation; Banking & Finance Litigation; Mergers & Acquisitions Litigation
  • Louis A. Dejoie, International Trade and Finance Law
  • Michael A. Doctrow, Copyright Law; Franchise Law; Intellectual Property Litigation; Technology Law; Trademark Law
  • Shaun R. Eisenhauer, Corporate Governance Law; Corporate Law
  • Timothy M. Finnerty, Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law; Trusts and Estates
  • Harvey Freedenberg, Intellectual Property Litigation; Patent Litigation
  • Richard H. Friedman, Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental
  • Stephen C. Gierasch, Closely Held Companies & Family Businesses Law; Corporate Law; Mergers & Acquisitions Law
  • Scott A. Gould, Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental
  • Bradley J. Gunnison, Corporate Law; Tax Law
  • J. Paul Helvy, Family Law
  • Kandice Kerwin Hull, Appellate Law
  • Michael L. Hund, Corporate Law; Securities/Capital Markets Law; Securities Regulation
  • Brian F. Jackson, Employment Law – Management; Labor Law — Management
  • Donald B. Kaufman, Commercial Litigation
  • Nicole Kaylor, Corporate Law
  • Stephen R. Kern, Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law
  • David M. Kleppinger, Energy Law
  • James W. Kutz, Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Construction; Litigation – Municipal
  • Daniel J. Malpezzi, Banking and Finance Law; Commercial Litigation; Corporate Law
  • Stephen A. Moore, Corporate Governance Law
  • Elizabeth P. Mullaugh, Trusts and Estates; Trust and Estates Litigation
  • Pamela C. Polacek, Energy Law
  • Carol Steinour Young, Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants
  • Diane M. Tokarsky, Construction Law; Litigation-Construction
  • Mark Van Blargan, Health Care Law
  • David M. Watts Jr., Trusts and Estates
  • Rhonda M. Weaver, Real Estate Law
  • Steven J. Weingarten, Real Estate Law

Lancaster, Pa.

  • Donna L. Kreiser, Public Finance Law
  • Kendra D. McGuire, Commercial Litigation; Litigation — Trusts and Estates

Columbus, Ohio

  • Donald R. Keller, Employment Law-Management; Labor Law-Management; Litigation-Labor and Employment
  • Samuel C. Randazzo, Energy Law

Washington, D.C.

  • Robert A. Weishaar Jr., Energy Law


James W. Kutz

Debra Denison Cantor

Charles M. Courtney

Stephen C. Gierasch

J. Paul Helvy

Brian F. Jackson

Elizabeth P. Mullaugh

Rhonda M. Weaver

Kendra D. McGuire