Media Center

37 McNees Attorneys Selected by 2017 Best Lawyers in America

August 15, 2016
Press Releases

Harrisburg, PA (Aug. 15, 2016) – Thirty-seven McNees Wallace & Nurick LLC attorneys have been recognized by Best Lawyers in America®.  Of the thirty-seven selected, two have been named 2017 “Lawyers of the Year’’ by the publication. 

Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers’ peer-nominated lists have been recognized as the most reliable, unbiased source of legal referrals in the country.  Some of McNees’ attorneys have appeared on the list for more than 20 years.

“It is rewarding to have the client service, dedication, and hard work of our attorneys recognized by their peers,’’ said David M. Kleppinger, the firm’s chairman. “Such recognition is a high point in any attorney’s career because it demonstrates how the marketplace and their peers value the quality of their representation.’’ 

The two McNees attorneys named “Lawyers of the Year’’ and their respective practice areas are:

• Kendra D. McGuire, Commercial Litigation; Trust and Estates Litigation

• Richard H. Friedman, Environmental Law; Environmental Litigation

The 35 additional McNees attorneys appearing on the 2017 Best Lawyers list and their respective practices are:

Harrisburg, PA

• Alan R. Boynton, Jr., Bet-the-Company; Commercial; Intellectual Property Litigation

• Debra Denison Cantor, Collaborative Law: Family Law

• Jeffrey F. Champagne, Education Law

• Charles M. Courtney, Land Use and Zoning Law

• Clayton W. Davidson, Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights; Insolvency and Reorganization Law

• James P. DeAngelo, Commercial; Banking & Finance; Mergers & Acquisitions Litigation

• Louis A. Dejoie, International Trade and Finance Law

• Michael A. Doctrow, Copyright Law; Franchise Law; Intellectual Property Litigation; Technology Law; Trademark Law

• Shaun R. Eisenhauer, Corporate Law

• Timothy M. Finnerty, Closely Held Companies and Family Businesses Law; Trusts and Estates

• Harvey Freedenberg, Intellectual Property; Patent Litigation

• Scott A. Gould, Environmental Law; Environmental Litigation

• Bradley J. Gunnison, Corporate Law; Tax Law

• J. Paul Helvy, Family Law

• Kandice Kerwin Hull, Appellate Practice

• Michael L. Hund, Corporate Law; Securities/Capital Markets Law; Securities Regulation

• Brian F. Jackson, Labor & Employment Law

• Donald B. Kaufman, Commercial Litigation

• Stephen R. Kern, Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law

• David M. Kleppinger, Energy Law

• James W. Kutz, Commercial; Construction; Municipal Litigation

• Daniel J. Malpezzi, Banking and Finance Law; Commercial Litigation; Corporate Law

• Stephen A. Moore, Corporate Governance Law

• Elizabeth P. Mullaugh, Trusts and Estates; Trust and Estates Litigation

• Pamela C. Polacek, Energy Law

• Carol Steinour Young, Mass Tort Litigation; Class Actions

• Diane M. Tokarsky, Construction Law; Litigation-Construction

• Mark M. Van Blargan, Health Care Law

• David M. Watts, Jr., Trusts and Estates

• Rhonda M. Weaver, Real Estate Law

• Steven J. Weingarten, Real Estate Law

Lancaster, PA

• Donna L. Kreiser, Public Finance Law

Columbus, OH

• Donald R. Keller, Employment Law-Management; Labor Law-Management; Litigation-Labor and Employment

• Samuel C. Randazzo, Energy Law

Washington, DC

• Robert A. Weishaar, Jr., Energy Law

Each year Best Lawyers designates “Lawyers of the Year” in high-profile legal specialties in large legal communities.  Only a single lawyer in each specialty in each community is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year.”  Lawyers honored as “Lawyers of the Year” receive particularly high ratings by earning a high level of respect among their peers for their abilities, professionalism and integrity.

McNees is a full-service law firm based in central Pennsylvania with more than 130 attorneys representing corporations, associations, institutions and individuals. The firm serves clients worldwide from offices in Harrisburg, Lancaster, State College and Scranton, PA; Columbus, OH; and Washington, D.C. McNees is also a member of the ALFA International Global Legal Network. @McNeeslaw LinkedIn


Debra Denison Cantor

J. Paul Helvy

Brian F. Jackson

James W. Kutz

Elizabeth P. Mullaugh

Rhonda M. Weaver

Charles M. Courtney